Fucking With Words: A Guide to Cursing 

WARNING.  IF YOU ARE SENSITIVE TO THE USE OF PROFANE LANGUAGE, DO NOT READ ANY FURTHER.

Yes, this is late.  Very late.  Terribly sorry.  I have given you a couple of video links to make up for it.

I like cursing.  I don’t know if you have noticed, but I do.  It releases stress and conveys emotions quite well.  I like the words damn, tits, and shit.   I like the words bitch, fuck and hell, but what I do not like.  What I can’t stand, is when people don’t use the words correctly.  For example;

” Fuck.  I can’t fucking believe he did that goddamn shit.  He’s so fucking stupid.”   I don’t like it when people use them every other word in a sentence.  You can curse appropriately.  Cursing, like jokes and magic tricks, involves timing and correct placement.  Let’s focus on a few of these words, starting with fuck.   Fuck, long before it was ever a curse word was the name of a man Rodger Fuckbythenavel.  This name was found in an English court record from 1310.  It was most likely a nick name for someone who was inexperienced in sex, or thought that was how sex was to be had.  The word fuck did not catch on in the English language for many years.   There are even earlier records of the word in Germanic languages. Fokken( to breed) and Norwegian fukka( to copulate).   So, fuck has been around for quite a while.

Shit.  Before it was used as a term for messing up was the German word scitte ‘diarrhea’.  So, literal shit that your body expels during a bowl movement.

Shit has been used as a noun to describe an obnoxious person since 1508

ex. “You are a real shit.”

Shit meant ‘to disrespect” in 1903

In the 1930’s it was used as a verb to  describe a lie

ex. “You are so full of shit.”   and to mean misfortune or trouble ex. “We are in some deep shit.”

To say, “I don’t give a shit.” did not come around until the 1960’s in student slang.

Now that you know the epistemology of these words, how ’bout some grammar?  Yay!

So fuck usually works as a verb or an adjective. I hope you know what those mean.  Verb is an action word.  Running, jumping, spinning, fucking.  Adjectives are words that describe something.  Beautiful, ugly, red, blue, or purple. You could use fuck in the actual since of sexual intercourse.  For example; “They fucked all night long.”  or, you could use it to describe someone, or something.  “That was the most fucking idiotic idea you’ve ever had.”

Almost all curse words fit into the category of a preposition.  They can be an exclamation of excitement, frustration, or awe.

Shit can either be a noun, an adjective, or a verb.  I can go take a shit.  I could be having a shitty day.  I could not give a shit, I could be in deep shit, or I could think that this idea was complete and utter shit.

So there you have it readers.  We’ve been fucking around with words for awhile.

Here are videos.  I will see you all next week hopefully.

This is a video project I just did for a class.

And if  you are interested in learning more about the epistemology of curse words, here is a blog I found.

https://sanityfound.wordpress.com/2008/07/20/the-origin-of-swear-words/

Leave a Reply

