Shooting Down the Assault

I am going to talk about gun laws and I am going to tell you how I feel about them.

Right now, the gun laws in America are regulated  by state governments, but the majority require you to have some kind of permit to carry a concealed weapon.  That includes anything that goes with, or on the weapon.  Such as, ammunition, mufflers, and trigger mechanisms for simi-automatic weapons.   Only law enforcement officers and military personnel are allowed to have fully automatic weapons.

I am going to be honest with all of you.  I love shooting pistols.  They are light, easy to hold, and fun to fire.  I wouldn’t ever use one against a human being unless it was the only option.  I use them on targets at a shooting range, where security camera’s are on me at all times, and I am using every safety precaution advised for shooting it.   If I ever end up owning one and it is still legal, I will go through all the background checks necessary to get one.

I do not like shooting simi- automatic weapons.  They are really heavy and loud, even with a muffler.

Do I believe we need more regulations on guns?  Hell yes.  I don’t think civilians should own any level of automatic weapon.  I wouldn’t even give them to police.  In our very imperfect world, I would only let the military handle them.  Perhaps in the future, in a safer and more sane world, I would do away with them entirely.

You know what, if it came down to it, I would give up my right to own any kind of gun.  Why?  It would stop them from getting into the hands of the wrong people.   I would sacrifice a right to protect the lives of millions of others.

There are many people out there who will say that I just contradicted myself.  Perhaps I just did, but think of it like this.

A kid on a play ground hits another kid with a stick.   Would you give every kid a stick, or stop the problem right there by taking the stick away?  Yes, there are good people with guns out there, but even so, if we shoot each other out then no one wins.

Take the stick away.

There are many more problems that surround all of this that I will talk about it in further posts.  For now, the first obvious problem seems to be that people who don’t need guns have them.

Leave a Reply

